Programme for Pupils with Multiple Disabilities

/ Our Service / PPMD

Programme for Pupils with Multiple Disabilities (PPMD)

Programme for Pupils with Multiple Disabilities (PPMD) caters to children aged 7 years to 18 years old with developmental disabilities or multiple disabilities, which may include a combination of intellectual, physical, visual and/or hearing impairments.

Due to the diverse needs of the children, they are grouped according to their special needs, level of functioning and potential.

All children have an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), which covers the following six different domains:

  • Language and Communication Skills
  • Cognitive Skills
  • Social and Emotional Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Adaptive Daily Living Skills

As part of our efforts to tailor an IEP to individual needs, emphasis on the various domains will be different for each child. For example, greater emphasis is placed on cognitive skills for high functioning children, whereas more focus will be given on adaptive living and pre-vocational skills for those referred to Day Activity Centers and Sheltered Workshops. For the more severely disabled, priority is given to functional skills so that they can become as independent as possible in the community.